Skip Navigation
A | A | A
Bookmark this page
Print This Page

Seattle Hazmat Response Team receives 2004 Warren E. Isman educational grant

March 1, 2004

The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund Committee named the Seattle Hazmat Response Team, Seattle, Wash., as the 2004 recipient of the Warren E. Isman Educational Grant. The team will use the grant to attend the International Hazardous Materials Response Teams Conference in June, sponsored by the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC).

The $2,500 grant is awarded to hazardous materials incident response teams from fire, police or other publicly funded programs seeking specialized training. Qualified teams must have demonstrated excellent leadership and communications skills and must have been trained in compliance with NFPA 472, Standard for Professional Competence of Responders to Hazardous Materials Incidents, and NFPA 473, Standard for Professional Competence of EMS Personnel Responding to Hazardous Materials Incidents.

The grant in honor of Isman, a former Fairfax County, Va. fire chief and IAFC president, following his death in 1991, was initiated by the IAFC. A senior instructor for the University of Maryland Fire Service Extension Program, Isman wrote three fire-related textbooks and served as chair of both NFPA’s Technical Committee on Hazardous Materials Response Personnel and IAFC’s Hazardous Materials Committee.

NFPA assumed responsibility for the grant’s distribution in 1993 following establishment of the Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund.

“The 2004 grant recipient exhibited a strong commitment to making hazardous materials safety a priority in their community,” said Ken Isman, chair of the Warren E. Isman Task Group, a subcommittee of the Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund Committee, and Chief Isman’s son. “This grant exemplifies my father’s devotion to the sharing of ideas and experiences in order to expand skills for hazmat teams.”

The Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund Committee, appointed by NFPA’s board of directors, selects scholarship recipients annually based on achievement, leadership, volunteerism, and intention to pursue a career in fire science/fire safety engineering.

Applications for the Jablonsky, Gratz and Miller scholarship awards are due at NFPA by April 1, 2004. For more information on NFPA scholarships, please visit