Skip Navigation
A | A | A
Bookmark this page
Print This Page

EMS Section - eNewsletters: 2010 May


Go to the EMS Section website.

This email is an EMS Section member benefit.

EMS Section Logo

Emergency Medical Services Section
of the International Association of Fire Chiefs

Emergency Medical Services

May 21, 2010
TO: EMS Section Members
FROM: Chief Gary Ludwig, EMS Section Chair

From the Chair

A packed FRM 2010 education sessionWow! Theres no more I can say about the success of Fire-Rescue Med a couple of weeks ago. I continue to hear praise and receive emails for how excellent a conference it was for the attendees.

Eight hundred attendees heard a fantastic opening and energizing keynote from U.S. Fire Administrator Chief Kelvin Cochran, a second-day speech by the Undersecretary of Homeland Security, Dr. Alexander Garza, and a third-day phenomenal talk by terrorism expert John Giduck. This doesnt include all the excellent breakout sessions and the overflow of vendors into the hallways.

Thanks to everyone who made this conference a success. Because of your continued support, the IAFC EMS Section is the leading voice of fire-based EMS interests at both the national and local level.

Mark your calendar for next years Fire-Recue Med: May 914 in Las Vegas. I look forward to working with each of you as we continue to grow and move fire-based EMS forward.

Change to Medicare Billing Reporting

As a result of the Health Care Reform legislation (PPACA), the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has just announced that Medicare claims must be submitted no later than 12 calendar months from the date of service, retroactive to January 1, 2010. Read the May 7 notice from CMS and more information on the change posted on the sections resources webpage.

Section Business: Election Results Announced

The 2010 section election results for the positions of section vice chair, member at large and secretary were announced at the EMS Section business meeting on May 2 at FRM. Chiefs David Becker and Norris Croom ran unopposed for their respective positions and were reelected by acclimation from the floor.

For the contested position of section secretary between Chiefs Mike Metro and Jeff Lindsey, 388 ballots were received by the deadline. Chief Mike Metro, having received 258 of the votes cast, was reelected as section secretary. Section Chair Gary Ludwig publicly thanked Chief Jeff Lindsey at the meeting for his candidacy for secretary and noted Chief Lindseys ongoing and valued service to the section on the FRM Program Planning Committee and liaison work.

The 2010/2011 section board members are:

  • Chair: Chief Gary Ludwig, Memphis, Tenn.
  • Vice Chair: Chief David Becker, Ret. St Louis, Mo.
  • Treasurer: Chief Rob Brown, Stafford County, Va.
  • Secretary: Deputy Fire Chief Mike Metro, Los Angeles County, Calif.
  • Member-at-Large: Division Chief Norris Croom, Castle Rock, Colo.
  • International Director: Fire Chief John Sinclair, Ellensburg, Wash.

Chief Mark Lockhart, section elections committee chair, further thanked the committee members, Chiefs Kevin Bershe and Sammy Halphen, for their work on the 2010 elections. He also thanked Chiefs Chris Shimer and Mike Carter for their assistance with the official ballot counting at FRM.


2010 Heart Safe Community Awards Presented at FRM

On May 4, the EMS Section and Physio Control presented the 2010 Heart Safe Community Awards. This year, 32 nominations were received, which is the highest response since the awards commencement in 2001. The 2010 large community category winner was the Anchorage Fire Department, in collaboration with other groups that comprise the state-wide Big Wild Heart of Alaska initiative. The 2010 small community category winner was the Town of Colonie (N.Y.) Emergency Medical Services.

Honorable mentions were also awarded in the large community category to Dane County (Wis.) Emergency Medical Services and the City of Arlington (Tex.) Fire Department. Honorable mentions in the small community category went to Hilton Head Island (S.C.) Fire & Rescue and Rib Mountain (Wis.) Fire Department.

Read more about the 2010 winners. The EMS Section and Physio Control are working to further promote the valuable efforts of the winning departments this summer.

Since 2001, Physio-Control has sponsored the Heart Safe Community Awards, which recognize systems that have used creative approaches to emergency cardiac care for the communities they serve.

2 New Podcasts: Impacts on EMS and Departments

The EMS Sections monthly podcast, Fully Involved #11, has been released. In it, guest host Fire Chief John Sinclair discusses big-picture EMS issues with IAFC President and Chairman of the Board Chief Jeff Johnson, on location at Fire-Rescue Med.

Also, in a special edition of Fully Involved from FRM 2010, guest host Mary Beth Michos, deputy director of the IAFC, talks with Chief Rob Brown, chair of the Economic Task Force, and Chief Al Gillespie, 2nd vice president of the IAFC, on the economic challenges facing fire and EMS agencies.

Listen to the podcasts today and join the discussion on the sections Google newsgroup and Facebook pages. More EMS podcasts: Resources > Podcasts.

Special IAFC Member Offer: JEMS Digital Edition at a Great Rate

You already know JEMS is a great resource, with breakthrough clinical articles, industry surveys, product reviews and more. Make sure your personnel take advantage of our special offer for IAFC members: 12 issues of the JEMS digital edition for only $20. Recommend a JEMS subscription to your personnel!

May Executive Committee Call Minutes Available

During its monthly teleconference on May 13, the executive committee discussed:

  • Upcoming section and organization meetings
  • Current EMS legislative efforts before Congress
  • Recent podcasts recorded at FRM 2010

The full minutes are available on the EMS Section website under About > Meetings.

EMS Chair Update Table of Contents

Table of Contents

From the Chair

Change to Medicare Billing Reporting

Section Business: Election Results Announced

2010 Heart Safe Community Awards Presented at FRM

2 New Podcasts: Impacts on EMS and Departments

Special IAFC Member Offer: JEMS Digital Edition at a Great Rate

May Executive Committee Call Minutes Available



EMS Section of the IAFC
4025 Fair Ridge Drive, Suite 300 " Fairfax, VA 220332868
Phone: 7032730911 " Fax: 7032739363 " Web:

Copyright © 2010 IAFC EMS Section. All rights reserved.