

IAFC Ben Franklin Award for Valor Historical Winners



Date	Name	Fire Department/Leadership Award*
	Kyle Olson	
2018	Andrew Brian	Clackamas (OR) Fire District #1 Department Leadership Award: Fire Chief Fred Charlton
	Scott Kohler	
	Matt Towner	
2017	Scott F. Clasgens	
	Paul Peters	Monroe (OH) Fire Department Department Leadership Award: Fire Chief John P. Centers
	Russell A. Rickard	
	Josh C. Spradling	
	Christopher S. Marker	
2016	Robert M. Garza	Fairfax County (VA) Fire and Rescue Department Department Leadership Award: Fire Chief Richard R. Bowers, Jr.
	Lawrence G. Mullin	
	Ryland Chapman	
	Gerald Mike Gonzales	Los Angeles (CA) County Fire Department
	Daniel Kenji McKeen	Department Leadership Award: Fire Chief Daryl L. Osby
	Matthew James Prasch	Department Leadership Award. The Chief Daryl E. Osby
2015	William Paul Bailey, Sr.	Virginia Beach (VA) Fire Department Department Leadership Award: Chief Steven R. Cover
	Kevin Michael Wirth	
2015	Robert Andrew Doran	
	Paul Michael Sigwart	
	Gordon S. Tamura	County of Kaua'i (HI) Fire Department Department Leadership Award: Fire Chief Robert Westerman
	Bryan M. Doo	
2014	Aaron Hawthorne	
	Adam Hussey	
	Clifton Cates	
2013	Thomas O'Donohue	Golden Valley (AZ) Fire District
	Timothy Hanlon	North Metro Fire & Rescue District (Broomfield, CO) Department Leadership Award: Chief Joseph Bruce
	John Maes	
2012	Josh Dueto	
	John Brereton	
	Josh Hamilton	
	Mark Maxwell	
2011	Kendall Thompson	New South Wales Rural Fire Service (Australia)
		Department Leadership Award: Commissioner Shane
		Fitzsimmons, AFSM
	Charles J. Metivier	
2010	Kalani Abreu	County of Kaua'i (HI) Fire Department Department Leadership Award: Chief Robert F. Westerman
	Roy Constantino	
	Francisco Garcia	
2009	Nicholas DiGiacomo	Miami Dade (FL) Fire Rescue
2005		Department Leadership Award: Chief Robert Palestrant

Date	Name	Fire Department/Leadership Award*
2008	Keith A. Grant	City of Watertown (NY) Fire Rescue Department
	David E. Johnston	Department Leadership Award: Chief Daniel J. Gaumont
2007	Brian Moffitt	· · · ·
	Christopher Richardson	Colorado Springs Fire Department
	Nicholas Chapel	Department Leadership Award: Chief Manuel Navarro
	Ryan Douglas	
2006	Timothy Ybarra	
	Ramon R. Pravia	
	Manuel T. Ramos	Navy Fire and Emergency Services (Naval Station Rota, Spain) Department Leadership Award: Chief Freddie Thompson, Jr.
	Jeronimo L. Enriquez	
	Javier R. Arellano	
	David Jiminez	
	Steven Traylor	
2005	William Jeffords	Chesterfield County (VA) Fire and EMS
	Michael Harrell	Department Leadership Award: Chief Paul Mauger
	Patrick Martin	Kansas City (MO) Fire Department Department Leadership Award: Chief Richard "Smokey" Dyer
	Phil Atwood	
	Marvin Donaldson	
2004	Sean McKarnin	
	David Bradley	
	, Stephen Johnson	
		City of Alhambra (CA) Fire Department Department Leadership Award: Chief Vincent L. Kemp
2003	Jasen Brown	
		Arlington (TX) Fire Department Department Leadership Award: Chief Robin Paulsgrove
2002	Randy Schmelz	
		Kankakee (IL) Fire Department
2001	Joseph Jay	Department Leadership Award: Chief Richard L. Kamerad
		Department Leadership Award. Chief Kichard L. Kamerad
2000	Patrick J. Wiley	Watertown (NY) Fire Department
2000	Fattick J. Wiley	Department Leadership Award: Chief Dan Gaumont
1999	Matt Mosely	Atlanta (GA) Fire Department Department Leadership Award: Chief Winston Minor
1555	Watt Wosely	
	Robert "Buster" Foster	
9/2/1998	Landon West	Fort Worth (TX) Fire Department
57271550	Mike Lachman	
	Cody Stillwell	
8/23/1997	Joel Harper	Plano (TX) Fire Department
0/23/199/	Clay Hooten	
8/24/1996	Dennis Rich	Santa Rosa (CA) Fire Department
0/24/1990	Donald Lopez	
1995	Oklahoma City Fire Department	Oklahoma City (OK) Fire Department
8/28/1994	Daniel Viancourt	
	David Viancourt	Cleveland (OH) Fire Department
	Vincent Viancourt	
8/29/1993	Robert Smith	
9/13/1992	Raymond Caballero	Chicago (IL) Fire Department

Date	Name	Fire Department/Leadership Award*
9/22/1991	Tony McDaniel	Hickory (NC) Fire Department
8/19/1990	Manfred Kern	Aurora (CO) Fire Department
8/27/1989	Larry Lee Wood	DWF Airport (TX) Fire Department
8/28/1988	Richard Shiah	Niagara Falls (NY) Fire Department
8/16/1987	James J. O'Shea	Brentwood (NY) Fire Department & FDNY
9/21/1986	Sean E. King	Laurel (MD) Volunteer Rescue Squad
40/2/4005	Albert K. Smalls, III	
10/3/1985	Thomas E. Erickson	Seattle (WA) Fire Department
9/30/1984	Blaine Chetwood	Cincinnati (OH) Fire Department
	Gary Brown	Dulles Airport (VA) Fire Department
8/28/1983	Timothy Blancard	Lake Havasu (AZ) Fire Department
9/19/1982	Chris Galloway	Sheridan (WY) Fire Department
1981	Italian Fire Brigade	Italian Fire Brigade
9/28/1980	William McGaul	Huntington (NV) Fire Department
	Ronald Strub	– Huntington (NY) Fire Department
9/16/1979	Anthony Tercha	Philadelphia (PA) Fire Department
9/10/1978	Donald C. Johnson	El Paso (TX) Fire Department
12/6/1977	Alma L. Brandon	Texarkana (TX) Fire Department
9/25/1977	Peter L. Sabino	Cincinnati (OH) Fire Department
9/19/1976	James P. Petros	Tulsa (OK) Fire Department
9/17/1975	Mike Phillips	Phoenix (AZ) Fire Department
9/15/1974	Terry Millard	San Francisco (CA) Fire Department
3/5/1974	Gerhard Bronkhorst	Nigel (Boksburg, S. Africa) Fire Department
1/30/1974	Cullen D. Clary	Shreveport (LA) Fire Department
10/21/1973	Jon C. Grover	Silver Springs (MD) Fire Department
7/24/1973	Joseph D'Agostino	Lake Worth (FL) Fire Department
3/8/1973	C.C. Chen	Taipei (Taiwan) Fire Department
2/22/1973	Francis P. Byrne	Boston (MA) Fire Department
12/18/1972	Robert D. Cooper	Windsor (Ontario, Canada) Fire Department
11/2/1972	Thomas Manerbino	Denver (CO) Fire Department
9/10/1972	Gerald Suttmiller	Lakewood (OH) Fire Department
8/10/1972	Edward A. Mitchell	San Francisco (CA) Fire Department
5/1/1972	Billy R. Garrison	Farmers Branch (TX) Fire Department
4/25/1972	Richard Davis	Haddon Heights (NJ) Fire Department
1/26/1972	David Carpenter	Fairfax County (VA) Fire and Rescue Department
10/26/1971	Richard Willcoxson	Kansas City (MO) Fire Department
10/21/1971	Richard P. Hickey	Boston (MA) Fire Department
9/16/1971	Freddie Manuel	Lake Charles (LA) Fire Department
9/7/1971	Leendert Vandrop	Chicago (IL) Fire Department
8/9/1971	Dennis Schroeder	Fresno (CA) Fire Department
8/3/1971	Herbert S. Bane	Pacific Architects & Engineers (S. Vietnam)
12/15/1970	Clifford Fox	Newark (NJ) Fire Department
11/30/1970	Larry R. Norton	Miami (FL) Fire Department
10/6/1970	David L. Fossell	St. Louis (MO) Fire Department

*Department Leadership Award is awarded to the fire chief who nominated the award winners.