

8251 Greensboro Drive, Suite 650 • McLean, VA 22102 Tel: 703.273.0911 • Fax: 703.273.9363 • IAFC.org

EVMS Board Telecon Meeting Minutes 26 July 2023

Participants:

EVMS Board Members Present:

Chief Scott Souders, Chair Chief Jason Shivers, Vice Chair Chief John McDonald, Secretary/Treasurer Chief Kevin McCaw, Board Member, Missouri Valley Division Representative Chief Harold McDonald, Board Member, Federal-Military Section Representative Chief Ed Rice, Board Member, Eastern Division Representative Chief Philip Thorburn, Board Member, Canadian Division Representative Chief Eric Pelletier, Board Member, New England Division Representative

Installed EVMS Board Member after Oath of Office Present:

Chief Ashanti Gray, Western Division

EVMS Board Members Not Present:

David Dock, Board Member at Large

IAFC Guests/Staff:

Chief James Wamsley, IAFC Board Liaison to EVMS Mr. Kevin McGee, IAFC Liaison

Call to Order

Chief Souders chaired the meeting. A roll call was taken and a quorum was present. The meeting came to order at 1400 hrs ET.

Chief Souders welcomed all in attendance. He introduced Chief Ashanti Gray who seeks an appointment to serve in the vacant Western Division Representative on the Board of Directors.

MOTION: 26 July 2023-01

Motion made and seconded to appoint Chief Ashanti Gray to fill the remaining Board of Directors term of office of the vacant Western Division Representative and for the 2023-2026 term. Motion carried.

Souders/Rice

Oath of Office

Chief James Wamsley, IAFC Board Member presiding

Chief Ashanti Gray took the IAFC Oath of Office to assume the vacant EVMS Western Division Representative Board position, presided by Chief James Wamsley.

Approval of June 6. 2023 Meeting Minutes

Chief Scott Souders

MOTION: 26 July 2023-02

Motion made and seconded to approve the June 6, 2023 Board of Directors meeting minutes. Motion carried.

Shivers/Rice

Treasurer Report

Chief John McDonald, Secretary/Treasurer

Chief McDonald reminded the Board that he sent the May EVMS financial report to them via email.

Chair Report

Chief Scott Souders, Chair

Chief Souders reminded the Board of the Electric Emergency Vehicle Pre-Conference at FRI encouraging all Board members to attend. The session will be professionally recorded so that the education can be shared to a wider audience over time to include use as a webinar. He also reminded the Board of the annual meeting at FRI and that details of the time and location hasn't yet been confirmed by the FRI Conference Team. Chief Souders requested that a Board meeting be held at FRI prior to the Annual meeting.

Vice Chair Report

Chief Scott Shivers, Vice Chair

No report.

Nominations Committee Report

Chief Ed Rice, Chair

Chief Shivers ascends to the chair position for the 2023-2025 term of office. Chief Rice reported that two nominations were submitted by email. Chief Ed Rice was nominated for Vice Chair. Chief John McDonald was nominated for Secretary/Treasurer. Chief Rice yielded to Chief Souders to complete the nominations process and conduct the election of officers.

Chief Souders asked for nominations for vice chair. No further nominations were made. Chief Souders closed nominations for vice chair.

Chief Souders asked for nominations for secretary/treasurer. No further nominations for secretary/treasurer were made. Chief Souders closed nominations for secretary/treasurer.

MOTION: 26 July 2023-03

Motion made and seconded to appoint Chief Ed Rice to the Vice Chair position on the Board of Directors 2023-2025 term. Motion carried.

Souders/Shivers

MOTION: 26 July 2023-04

Motion made and seconded to appoint Chief John McDonald to the Secretary/Treasurer position on the Board of Directors 2023-2025 term. Motion carried.

Souders/Rice

2023-2024 EVMS Officers Oath of Office

Chief James Wamsley, IAFC Board Member presiding

Chief Shivers took the Oath of Office to assume the chair position that begins at the close of FRI 2023 to close of FRI 2025.

Chief Rice took the Oath of Office to assume the vice chair position that begins at the close of FRI 2023 to close of FRI 2025.

Chief J. McDonald took the Oath of Office to assume the secretary/treasurer position that begins at the close of FRI 2023 to the close of FRI 2025. EVMS Two-Year Work Plan Work Session

Facilitated by Chief Scott Souders, Chair

Chief Souders discussed the results of the survey to prioritize the suggestions for the work plan.

Work plan suggestions priorities are as follows;

- 1. Perform and record 2023 FRI Electric Emergency Vehicle Pre-conference.
 - This is on the FRI schedule and is being promoted.
- 2. Place Electric Emergency Vehicle recorded session access on EVMS website.
 - Arrangements have been made to professionally record this session.
 We will request IAFC staff to have it accessible on the EVMS web site.
 We will also consider using the recording as a webinar.
- 3. Inform and prepare membership on the impending diesel motor design changes.
 - A document will be prepared to inform membership of news regarding the Cummins motor under development. Chief Rice will be lead and will report back in 60 days.
- 4. a. With IAFC Government Relations staff, address supply chain crisis with White House and Department of Commerce. b. With IAFC Government Relations staff, influence and support legislation to exempt fire and EMS vehicles from EPA emissions requirements.
 - Chief Souders will be the EVMS representative to collaborate with IAFC Government Relations and Policy staff.
- 5. Review and modify where necessary EVMS web site for member messaging and resource material.
 - Chief Shivers, Chief Gray and Chief McGee will review the EVMS web site for removal of obsolete content, addition of new content. The group will report back in 60 days of findings and action taken.

IAFC Staff Liaison Report

Kevin McGee

Kevin McGee informed the Board that any by-laws revisions will be due in February 2024.

Old Business

No old business.

New Business

Chief Souders and Chief McCaw will review the EVMS by-laws for recommendations back to the Board for any identified revisions.

Good of the Order

Nothing further for the good of the order.

Motion to Adjourn

Motion made and seconded to adjourn. Motion carried.

McCaw/Rice

The telecon ended at 1436 hrs ET.

Minutes submitted by:

Mr. Kevin McGee

EVMS Staff Liaison

Chief Scott Souders

EVMS, Chair