EMS Section of the International Association of Fire Chiefs



4795 Meadow Wood Lane, Suite 100 • Chantilly, VA 20151 • Tel: 703.273.0911 • IAFC.org



James O. Page EMS Achievement Award

Sponsored by IAFC EMS Section

DESCRIPTION

This Award is presented annually to an individual who has played a key role in creating and/or promoting nonclinical innovation and achievements in Fire Service EMS management and leadership that has had a positive impact nationally. The Award is named in honor of James O. Page who has been a visionary and a national leader in Fire Service EMS for over three decades.

Individuals nominated must be committed to:

- Creating a positive image for EMS as a whole while being an advocate of the Fire Service.
- Making a difference for the overall good of the Fire Service.
- Committed to furthering and strengthening the role and image of the Fire Service EMS across the country.

The individual nominated must have the following qualities:

- Enthusiasm and dedication toward Fire Service EMS.
- Professionalism and Vision.
- Desire for achievement and drive for excellence.
- Exemplary performance and leadership qualities.

PAST RECIPIENTS

- 1995 James O. Page when the award was named
- 1996 Dennis Murphy, Fire Chief, Springfield (OR) Fire Department
- 1997 Alan Brunacini, Fire Chief, Phoenix (AZ) Fire Department
- 1998 Tim Hynes, Battalion Chief, Salt Lake City (UT) Fire Department*
- 1999 Jeff Dyar, EMS Program Chair, National Fire Academy, US Fire Administration
- 2000 Ron Blaul, Battalion Chief, Orange County (CA) Fire Department
- 2001 Lori Moore, Assistant to the President, International Association of Fire Fighters
- 2002 Don Walsh, Assistant Chief, Chicago (IL) Fire Department
- 2003 Mary Beth Michos, Fire Chief, Prince William County (VA) Fire and Rescue**
- 2004 Garry Briese, Executive Director, International Association of Fire Chiefs
- 2005 Ricky Davidson, MD, Fire Chief (Retired), Shreveport (LA) Fire Department**
- 2006 Jack Krakeel, Fire Chief, Fayette County (GA) Emergency Services**
- 2007 Pete Lawrence, Battalion Chief, Oceanside (CA) Fire Department
- 2008 Ken Riddle, Deputy Chief (Retired), Las Vegas (NV) Fire Department**
- 2009 Mark Lockhart, Fire Chief, Maryland Heights (MO) Fire Protection District
- 2010 Bruce Evans, Assistant Chief, North Las Vegas (NV) Fire Department
- 2011 Jeff Lindsey, Fire Chief (Ret.) Chief Learning Officer at Health & Safety Institute
- 2012 William Metcalf, Fire Chief, North County Fire Protection District, CA

- 2013 Kevin Brame, Deputy Chief (Ret.), North Las Vegas Fire Department, NV
- 2014 John Sinclair, Fire Chief, Kittitas Valley Fire and Rescue, WA**
- 2015 Dr. Denis Onieal, Superintendent, National Fire Academy
- 2016 Dennis Compton, Fire Chief (Ret.), International Fire Service Training Association
- 2017 Ken Knipper, Chief, Silver Grove (KY) Volunteer Fire Department*
- 2018 Gary Ludwig, Fire Chief, Champaign (IL) Fire Department**
- 2019 Gary Morris, Fire Chief, Pine-Strawberry (AZ) Fire Protection District
- 2020 Kathy West, Infection Control Expert, Infection Control/Emerging Concepts, Inc.
- * Award was presented posthumously
- ** Former Chairperson of the EMS Section