

Volunteer & Combination Officers Section of the International Association of Fire Chiefs



4795 Meadow Wood Lane, Suite 100 • Chantilly, VA 20151 • Tel: 703.273.0911 • IAFC.org

VCOS Board of Directors Annual Meeting

August 9, 2018 Dallas, Texas

MINUTES

Thursday, August 9 (at the Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center, 650 S. Griffin St. Dallas, Texas)

Present: Chair Timothy Wall, Chief Donna Black, Chief Jason Catrambone, Chief Norvin Collins, Chief Charles Flynn, Chief Fred Windisch, Chief Jim Cook, Chief Rich Cowger, Chief Ron Oettel, Chief Al Yancey

Guests: Chief Ed Rush

Staff: Ms. Jennifer Bragiel Cozad

The meeting started at 2:36 pm.

Call to Order – Chair Wall

Chief Wall called the meeting to order and asked Chief Rush to lead the election of officers.

Election of VCOS Officers – Chief Rush

Chief Rush explained that the positions of chair and secretary/treasurer only had one candidate, Chief Flynn for Chair and Chief Windisch for Secretary/Treasurer. For the position of vice-chair there are two candidates, Chief Collins and Chief Cowger.

Motion by Chief Catrambone and seconded by Chief Black for the unanimous acceptance of Chief Flynn for VCOS Chair and Chief Windisch for Secretary-Treasurer. Motion carried.

Motion by Chief Flynn and seconded by Chief Catrambone to go into voting procedure by private ballot for the position of vice-chair. Motion carried.

The first ballot resulted in a tie. Discussion took place on the proper way to proceed.

Motion by Chief Black and seconded by Chief Windisch to table the vote for the vice-chair position until after the board receives guidance on how to proceed. Motion carried.

Motion by Chief Flynn and seconded by Chief Black to recess the meeting until 4:40pm. Motion carried.

The meeting recessed at 2:47pm.

The meeting returned to order at 4:40pm.

Chief Black provided an update on Robert's Rules of Order for when voting results in a tie. There was discussion on postponing the vote until a later date or re-voting.

Motion by Chief Oettel and seconded by Chief Cowger to vote up to two more times and if both times come out tied, the board will table the vote and have it by phone with all board members. Motion carried.

Motion by Chief Catrambone and seconded by Chief Oettel to accept the ballots for vice-chair as cast. Motion carried.

The board congratulated Chief Rich Cowger on being selected as vice-chair.

Motion by Chief Flynn and seconded by Chief Oettel to adjourn. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 4:49pm.