IAFC Ben Franklin Award for Valor

The nomination period for 2024 is now closed.

IAFC Ben Franklin Award for Valor, sponsored by Motorola Solutions, is presented annually at the general session of Fire-Rescue International. The award honors a firefighter for his or her expert training, professional service and dedication to the duty displayed in saving human life.

Fire Chief of the Year

The nomination period for 2024 is now closed.

The Fire Chief of the Year is presented annually by the IAFC and Pierce Manufacturing at the general session of Fire-Rescue International. The award honors one career and one volunteer fire chief for their leadership, innovation, professional development, integrity, service to the public and contributions as a whole to the fire service. Nominations are now open.

Emergency Medical Services Awards

The Emergency Medical Services Awards, presented by the IAFC EMS Section, feature four awards that recognize innovations and achievement in emergency medicine. Awards include:

Excellence in Fire & Life Safety Award

The Excellence in Fire & Life Safety Award honors those who have dedicated themselves to saving lives and property through the development of codes, fire-prevention practices and leadership techniques.

Hazmat Awards

The IAFC Hazardous Materials Committee has four hazmat awards that recognize outstanding contributions in the field of hazardous-materials emergency response, which are presented annually at the International Hazardous Materials Response conference.

  • Chairman's Award
  • Level A Award
  • John Eversole Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Making a Difference Award

President's Awards of Recognition

Every year during the FRI general session, the IAFC president honors a number of individuals from the fire and emergency service community who have contributed in a significant way during the president's term with the IAFC President's Awards of Recognition.

Safety, Health and Survival Awards

Safety, Health and Survival Section awards recognize both organizations and individuals who have made a significant contribution to the overall environment of health and safety in their organizations or the fire service. The Safety Health and Survival Section award program is comprised of four awards:

  • Alan Brunacini Fire Service Executive Safety Award
  • Billy Goldfeder Fire Service Organizational Safety Award
  • Garry Briese IAFC Safety Performance Award

Volunteer & Combination Awards

The Volunteer & Combination Officers Section issues a series of awards that recognize achievement in leadership, operations and administration. The four awards included in the VCOS awards program are:

  • John M. Buckman III Leadership Award
  • Emergency Vehicle Safe Operations Achievement Award
  • Retention and Recruitment Award
  • Training Officer Award
You are not logged in.