Human Relations

IAFC Human Relations Committee Diversity/Inclusion Summit at FRI 2018 in Dallas, Tx.

Committee Members

Deborah Sommer
Chicago Fire Department (IL)

Andy Kovacs
Tri-Lakes Monument Fire (CO)

Christopher Shane Henderson
St Petersburg Fire Rescue (FL)

Mindy Andrasevits
Eudora Fire Department (KS)

Deryn Rizzi
City of Mississauga (Canada)

Ernest Malone
Indianapolis Fire Department (IN)

Geo Blackshire
Palo Alto Fire Department (CA)

Heather Moore
Illinois Fire Service Institute (IL)

DeAnjelo Bradley
Vance Fire Department (OK)

Kenneth Lay
Lansing Fire Department (MI)

Kevin Ide
Dayville Fire Company (CT)

Laurie VandeSchoot
Strathmore Fire Department (Canada)

Rudy Ruiz
Perrysburg City Fire Department (OH)

Russell F. Osgood
Ogunquit Fire Rescue (ME)

Shawn Hanson
Greater Naples Fire Rescue District (FL)

Walter Nelson, Jr.
Amherst Fire Department (MA)

Dave Robertson
Fire Edge Fire Service Training and Coaching (CA)

Tiffany Green
Prince George's County Fire & EMS Department (MD)

Travis Preau
Loudoun County Combined Fire & Rescue System (VA)


HRC_LogoThe mission of the IAFC Human Relations Committee is to provide information on how to create, adopt, and implement a sequence of proceedings on interpersonal and intergroup adjustments relative to diversity to the members of the IAFC so they can create, and implement a Value Centered Human Relations Approach program within their own fire department.


Diversity and inclusion are universal!

A major focus of committee work is defined in the HRC Strategic Plan 2018-2020 (PDF).

Human Resources updates & resources


Asst. Chief Laurie VandeSchoot, Strathmore Fire Department

Interim Staff Liaison
Scott Stephens

You are not logged in.