IAFC Ben Franklin Award for Valor Winners

Ben Franklin Valor AwardThe IAFC Ben Franklin Award for Valor, sponsored by Motorola Solutions, is the IAFC's most prestigious award. Since 1970, the award has recognized the spirit of service, courage and heroism that is a proud tradition among the world's fire and emergency service. The program is named for one of the first fire chiefs in the United States, Benjamin Franklin. An inventor, statesman and humanitarian, Mr. Franklin was a prime contributor to the wealth of tradition that symbolizes the fire and emergency service worldwide.

Captain Michael Kaake, Lieutenant Kris Prosser and firefighter paramedic Tyler Abbatiello as the recipients of the 2022 IAFC Ben Franklin Award for Valor
2022 Honorees

Captain Michael Kaake, Lieutenant Kris Prosser and firefighter paramedic Tyler Abbatiello

2020 and 2021 Honoree

No award was presented in 2020 and 2021 due to COVID-19.

2019 Honoree
2019 Honoree

California Fire Chief David Hawks Honored For Rescue Mission


2018 Honorees Ladder1280
2018 Honorees

Oregon Firefighters Honored for Daring House Fire Rescue

2017 Honoree
2017 Honoree

Ohio Crew Honored for Heroics in Retirement Community Fire

2016 Honoree
2016 Honorees

USA-1, Fairfax County (Va.) Fire and Rescue Department Urban Search & Rescue

USA-2, Los Angeles County (Calif.) Fire and Rescue Department’s Urban Search a& Rescue


2015 Honoree

Virginia Beach Crew Receives Highest Honor for Complex Mass Casualty Rescue

2014 Honoree

Kaua'i Fire Crew Saves 121 Hikers Stranded by Flash Flood

2013 Honoree

Arizona Fire Chief Honored for His Quick Thinking During Dangerous Rescue


2012 Honoree

Colorado Fire Crew Faces Perfect Storm in Dramatic Rescue

2011 Honoree

Australian Firefighter Receives Franklin Award for Valor

Additional Past Winners

2010: Kaua'i (HI) Fire Department

2009: Miami Dade (FL) Fire Rescue

2008: City of Watertown (NY) Fire Department

2007: Colorado Springs (CO) Fire Department

2006: Navy Fire and Emergency Services, Naval Station Rota, Spain

2005: Cheterfield County (VA) Fire and EMS

You are not logged in.