Executive Fire Officers

Identifying, producing, and encouraging industry-wide and governmental acceptance of executive fire officer development programs, certifications, and standards.

EFO Section updates

Vote in the EFO Section Election

This year the EFO Section has five seats open for the Board of Directors and proposes significant updating to its bylaws. Three seats, Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary/Treasurer are unopposed while the Directors-at-Large for both the Southeastern and Eastern Divisions are contested. Those running are:

  • For Section Chair (unopposed), Battalion Chief Jo-Ann Lorber, Fort Lauderdale (Florida) Fire Rescue
  • For Vice Chair (unopposed), Deputy Fire Chief William Hyde, Rogers (Arkansas) Fire Department
  • For Secretary/Treasurer (unopposed), Deputy Fire Chief Gregory Barton, Beverly Hills (California) Fire Department
  • For Eastern Division Director-at-Large, Fire Chief Joseph Fahd, Cohoes (New York) Fire Department
  • For Eastern Division Director-at-Large, Deputy Fire Chief Michael Allora, Clifton (New Jersey) Fire Department
  • For Eastern Division Director-at-Large, Chief Fire Officer Charles McGarvey, Lower Merion  (Pennsylvania) Fire Department
  • For Southeastern Division Director-at-Large, Fire Chief Trey Mayo, Winston-Salem (North Carolina) Fire Department
  • For Southeastern Division Director-at-Large, Assistant Chief Timothy Mossgrove, Haines City (Florida) Fire Department

Candidate Bios & Platforms

In addition to electing officers, the section proposes revisions to its current bylaws by requiring members to serve two years on the Board of Directors before moving to the Executive Board; revising the process for amending bylaws; bringing the bylaws in line with the IAFC's; and making some editorial changes. Read through the proposed changes, outlined in red with the current version struckthrough, and be informed when it comes time to vote.

Proposed Bylaw Changes

The election runs from April 27 through June 8 and each section member will receive their own credentials to log into the online system to cast their vote. Be sure and make your voice heard. Know the candidates and the bylaw changes and exercise your membership to its fullest by voting.

Success at the 2017 EFO Graduate Symposium

The National Fire Academy, supported by your EFO Section, held another great EFO Graduate Symposium on April 21st through 23rd. Many thanks to the great speakers, everyone who made the event a success, and congratulations to the Don Manno Award winners.

 There were many great presentations this year and the EFO Section would like everyone to benefit from this educational opportunity, even if you could not be there.

2017 Presentations


2016 Don Manno Award for Applied Research Project Winners: (l to r) Christopher Bower, Brad Hardin, Gary Baum, and Alan Long.

2016 EFO Graduate Symposium Slides

Want to catch up on last year's presentations? Whether you were there in person or wish you had been, you can download those resources to view or share.

2016 Presentations

Join EFO

Membership Fee

EFO Section Dues - $25 annually

Join the IAFC and EFO Section

Get details on IAFC membership types and join the IAFC and EFO Section today!

Join the EFO Section (already an IAFC member)

Add a section to your membership package by calling the IAFC toll free at 866-385-9110 (ask for member services). You can be invoiced or pay over the phone with a credit card.

Join today

EFOP Graduates

EFOP Students

Please use this online form to send your applied research project survey request. Questions? EFO@iafc.org

Contact Us

Spencer Cheatham
EFO Section Staff Liaison

Premier Sponsor:

Columbia Southern University logo

Interested in becoming an executive fire officer?
Learn about the EFO Program

The Executive Fire Officers Section used to be known as the National Society of Executive Fire Officers (NSEFO). To ensure the sustainability and growth of the organization, NSEFO became a section of the International Association of Fire Chiefs in 2014.