IAFC 150 anniversary logo

Livingston County chief named Fire Chief of the Year

Michael O'Brian, director of the IAFC's Fire & Life Safety Section and fire chief for the Brighton Area Fire Authority (Michigan), was named Fire Chief of the Year at a virtual meeting of the Michigan Association of Fire Chiefs on Tuesday, July 14, 2020. 

Michael O'Brian, Fire Chief Brighton Area Fire Authority

According to WHMI-FM 93-5 News, this is the second year in a row a Livingston County chief has won; the 2019 award going to Howell's Andy Pless. His combination department is responsible for fire protection over 74 square miles with five fire stations. Prior to serving as the fire chief, he was assigned as the deputy fire chief/fire marshal in the combination fire department.

WHMI went on to report that O'Brian is focused on building projects that will give the station the ability to provide 24-hour coverage. 

Chief O'Brian has a bachelor of science degree in public safety administration from Eastern Michigan University, where he serves as an adjunct instructor with Fire Staff and Command. Fire Chief O'Brian serves on multiple NFPA and International Code Council technical committees and the chair of the ICC's Fire Code Action Committee. Chief O'Brian is a passionate advocate of firefighter health and wellness throughout the country.



Related News

You are not logged in.