IAFC 150 anniversary logo

Fire and Life Safety Section (FLSS) Section & Board Meetings

Thank you to all Fire and Life Safety Section (FLSS) members who attended the Section lunch meeting during Fire-Rescue International in Kansas City, Missouri. A special thank you to Siemens for sponsoring the luncheon. It was a full agenda highlighting many of the FLSS accomplishments over the past year. The meeting kicked off with IAFC outgoing President Chief Donna Black appointing the newly elected board members:

  • Elizabeth Bednarcik – Division Chief of Prevention, Brighton Fire Rescue District, Brighton, Colorado – At-large board position for a three-year term, expiring at FRI in 2026
  • William G. Hyde II – Deputy Fire Chief, Fire Marshal & Building Official, City of Rogers Fire Department, Arkansas - At-large board position for a three-year term, expiring at FRI in 2026
  • Ray Reynolds – Fire Chief, Nevada Fire Department, Iowa - At-large board position for a two-year term, expiring at FRI in 2025
  • Michael O’Brian – Fire Chief, Brighton Fire Department, Michigan - International Director for a two-year term, expiring at FRI in 2025
  • Scott Moore – Fire Chief, Battlefield Fire Department, Missouri - Secretary/Treasurer for a two-year term, expiring at FRI in 2025

Outgoing board member Retired Chief Joe Powers was recognized for the great amount of knowledge he brought to the board, especially the role he played making sure the board focused on CRR as it relates to the future of the fire service. The first international board member, Chief Larry Cocco, Toronto Fire Service was also welcomed.

The FLSS and ICC awarded Angie Wiese, City of St. Paul, Director of the Department of Safety, and Inspections, the 2023 Excellence in Fire and Life Safety Award. It honors individuals who have dedicated themselves to saving lives and property through their work on building codes, fire-prevention practices, legislative efforts, and strong leadership. Under Wiese’s leadership, the City’s department received the Innovation Award from the Kennedy School for Fire Safety Inspection Program.

The FLSS board welcomed incoming IAFC President Chief John Butler to the section meeting. International Director Chief Mike O’Brian provided an update about the Lithium-ion/Energy Storage System presentations he has been doing around the country. Vice Chair Chief Robert Marshal provided an update on the ICC Building Inspector Guide and the importance of milestone inspections. Chief Ray Reynolds talked about the work he has been doing to address the Home Medical O2 fire problem and the FLSS workgroup he is leading that involves industry and fire service organizations.

FLSS Specialty Rep Robert Roberts, Senior Industry Affairs Manager, Honeywell Fire, discussed In-building Communications and two new programs that will raise the level of competency for emergency responder communications inside buildings. He invited past-FLSS board member Chief Alan Perdue to talk about the Safer Building Coalition’s Emergency Responder Communications Enhancement System (ERCES) Handbook.

Stay tuned, these are just a few highlights from the work the FLSS is doing. We look forward to another successful year.

Related News

You are not logged in.