IAFC 150 anniversary logo

2014 Explorer Scholarship Awards Announced

The IAFC Foundation has announced the recipients of the 2014 Fire Explorer Scholarships:

  • Spencer David Blackwell, South County Fire Authority/Tracy Fire Dept., Calif.
  • Colin Ellison, Wauconda (Ill.) Fire District
  • Timothy Maricle, St. Charles City (Mo.) Fire
  • Michael W. Morrison, Macedonia (Ohio) Fire Department
  • Mitchell P. Olsen, Oak Creek (Wis.) Fire Department
  • Conner Shults, Upton (Mass.) Fire Department
  • Alexander Wright, Vashon Island (Wash.) Fire Rescue

The IAFC Foundation, in partnership with the Learning for Life Fire Service Exploring program, coordinates this annual scholarship to assist Explorers, young men and women ages 14 to 21, in pursuing a career in the fire sciences or any related academic program. This year's winners are well-rounded individuals who are very active in their respective fire departments, schools and communities.

Anthony P. Campisi, president of the IAFC Foundation and president/CEO of Glatfelter Insurance Group, said the Foundation is delighted to provide these Fire Explorer Scholarships to help young men and women in their pursuit of a career in the fire and emergency services. "These youth represent the future of the fire and emergency services and it's imperative that we assist them in their quest to serve and protect our communities."

"On behalf of the National Fire/Emergency Service Committee, I wish to congratulate all of the recipients," said William L. Taylor, director of Exploring. "In addition, I would like to thank the IAFC Foundation and the supporting organizations for their generosity."

IAFC Foundation Scholarships are made possible by generous contributions from Glatfelter Insurance Group, 1-800-BOARDUP, Motorola Solutions Foundation, W. S. Darley & Company, the IAFC's Metropolitan Chiefs and Volunteer and Combination Officer Sections, and many individual supporters.

The IAFC Foundation provides scholarships that make it possible for fire and EMS first responders to access the advanced learning opportunities they need to be prepared for the increasing complex realities of the world today. The scholarship awards made by the IAFC Foundation provide first responders with the educational opportunities they need to lead the fire service and to serve and protect their communities. For more information on the Foundation, visit IAFCF.org.

Related News
You are not logged in.