IAFC 150 anniversary logo

2015 Fire Service Executive Development Institute Participants Selected

Fairfax, Va. – The International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) today announced the participants accepted into the third-year of the prestigious Fire Service Executive Development Institute (FSEDI).

FSEDI is a yearlong leadership-development program developed by the IAFC to provide new and aspiring chiefs with the tools they need to have successful and productive tenures. The members of the cohort will meet in May for their first six-day session, which will be followed by two other sessions six months apart.

The group will communicate between sessions using an online community. During the course, participants will learn from experts in the fire service a variety of ways to lead departments and keep their communities safe.

Once again, Motorola Solutions Foundation has provided the IAFC with a grant to fund the program.

“Motorola Solutions Foundation recognizes that challenging times require a new breed of leader to head our local fire departments and national fire service,” said Matt Blakely, executive director of Motorola Solutions Foundation. “We’re proud to help support the education of these leaders to ensure they have the skills necessary to meet these complex and emerging issues confronting our communities.”

Those accepted into the program are:

  • Division Chief Stephen Abbott, North County (Calif.) Fire Protection District
  • Deputy Chief John Binaski, City of Clovis (Calif.) Fire Department
  • Deputy Chief Geo Blackshire, Palo Alto (Calif.) Fire Department
  • Battalion Chief Brian Bonner, Homewood (Ala.) Fire Department
  • Fire Chief Gregory Cassell, Clark County (Nev.) Fire Department
  • Assistant Chief Mark Fyffe, Union Township (Ohio) Fire Department
  • Fire Chief Christopher Haddock, Euclid (Ohio) Fire Department
  • Battalion Chief Kevin Hafemann, Milwaukee (Wis.) Fire Department
  • Division Chief Michael Johansmeyer, Seminole County (Fla.) Fire Department
  • Deputy Chief Sterling Jones, Augusta (Ga.) Fire Department
  • Battalion Chief Jo-Ann Lorber, Fort Lauderdale (Fla.) Fire Department
  • Fire Marshal Jonathan Lund, Des Moines (Iowa) Fire Department
  • Battalion Chief Paula McDaniel, Charlotte (N.C.) Fire Department
  • Fire Chief Jim Morgan, Pinetop (Ariz.) Fire District
  • Deputy Chief Michael Piper, Arvada (Colo.) Fire Protection District
  • Assistant Chief Chad Roberson, St. George (La.) Fire Protection District
  • Fire Chief (Acting) Matthew Simmons, Troy (Ohio) Fire Department
  • Assistant Chief Christofer Sweat, Lexington (Ky.) Fire Department
  • District Chief Susan Tamme, Tampa (Fla.) Fire Department
  • Division Chief Robert Weech, Broward (Fla.) Sheriff-Fire Department

“With the success of the previous two FSEDI programs, I’m excited that we can make this program available to another group of upcoming leaders in the fire and emergency service,” said Chief G. Keith Bryant, IAFC president and chairman of the board. “Many officers from the first two programs have been successful in achieving fire chief positions and in leading their departments though challenging times. They also are serving on national committees and organizations that are making a difference in the national fire service.”

About the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC)
The IAFC represents the leadership of firefighters and emergency responders worldwide. IAFC members are the world's leading experts in firefighting, emergency medical services, terrorism response, hazardous materials spills, natural disasters, search and rescue, and public safety legislation. Since 1873, the IAFC has provided a forum for its members to exchange ideas, develop professionally and uncover the latest products and services available to first responders. Learn more
Related News
You are not logged in.