IAFC 150 anniversary logo

IAFC Awards Showcase Local Fire Department Success

At a time when fire departments are under continuous financial and political pressure, taking time to celebrate the great work of the fire and emergency service may seem like a luxury you can’t afford.

In reality, it has never been more important to showcase examples of how fire departments continue to selflessly serve, evolve and thrive. The IAFC has a number of award programs with simple nomination processes to make it easy to get the recognition you and your team deserve.

Deadlines for nominations are quickly approaching. Visit the IAFC Awards webpage for complete information on all IAFC award programs, or learn more about a specific award by following the links below.

Benjamin Franklin Fire Service Award for Valor
Nominations Due: June 1
Award for Valor nomination form (MS Word file)

The Benjamin Franklin Fire Service Award for Valor, the IAFC's most prestigious award, recognizes the spirit of service, courage and heroism that is a tradition among the world's fire and emergency service. It is presented annually by the IAFC and the award sponsor, Motorola, at the general session of Fire-Rescue International. The award honors a firefighter for his or her expert training, professional service and dedication to duty displayed in saving a human life.

The award winner and a guest, as well as the winning department chief, will be treated to a VIP experience at FRI 2012, including all-access registration, lodging, transportation and a dinner in their honor.

Excellence in Fire & Life Safety Award
Nomination Deadline: May 15
Excellence in Fire & Life Safety Award nomination form (pdf)

The Excellence in Fire & Life Safety Award honors those who have dedicated themselves to saving lives and property through the development of codes, fire-prevention practices and leadership techniques.

IAFC Safety, Health and Survival Section Awards
Deadline Extended! Nominations Due: May 15
SHS Award nomination instructions

IAFC Safety, Health and Survival Section awards recognize organizations and individuals of organizations who have made a significant contribution to the overall environment of health and safety in their organizations and the fire service. Awards will be presented at Fire-Rescue International 2012 in four categories:

  • Alan Brunacini Fire Service Executive Safety Award (cosponsored by Provident Insurance)
  • Billy Goldfeder Fire Service Organizational Safety Award (cosponsored by VFIS)
  • Garry Briese IAFC Safety Performance Award
  • Safety Officer of the Year (cosponsored by Elsevier Public Safety and FDSOA)

Each SHS award includes complimentary travel and registration for FRI 2012 in Denver to accept the award.

Volunteer & Combination Officers Section Awards
Nomination Deadline: June 30
Emergency Vehicle Safe Operations Award nomination form, (pdf)
Recruitment and Retention Award nomination form, (pdf)

The Emergency Vehicle Safe Operations Award supports the National Fallen Firefighter Foundation and U.S. Fire Administration initiatives to reduce firefighter injuries and deaths as a result of vehicle accidents. It is presented to a department that has experienced zero vehicle accidents during the previous year.

The VFIS Recruitment and Retention Award recognizes success and excellence in the retention and recruitment of emergency service organization members. The award is presented to a department that has experienced positive results to a comprehensive approach to retaining and recruiting members during the previous year.

For both awards, the award cosponsor, VFIS, provides the winner’s travel and lodging expenses to attend the award ceremonies at the VCOS Symposium in the Sun, November 8-11, 2012 in Clearwater Beach, Fla.

Related News
You are not logged in.