IAFC 150 anniversary logo

IAFC Honors Chief Ludwig with James O. Page EMS Achievement Award

Henderson, Nev. - Fire Chief Gary Ludwig was named the 2018 recipient of the James O. Page EMS Achievement Award. The annual award is presented to a leader who has made a positive impact on a national scale, creating and promoting nonclinical innovation and achievements in fire service EMS management.

With more than 40 years of service, Ludwig is a widely recognized expert in the fire and emergency service. He began his career in St. Louis, where he held nearly all ranks and served as chief paramedic until 2001. He has held many leadership positions in other fire departments, including deputy chief with the Memphis (Tennessee) Fire Department and his current role as fire chief for the Champaign (Illinois) Fire Department.

Ludwig has been an active member of the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) for nearly 25 years and served on the EMS Section Executive Board for 22 years.

From 2007-2013, he served as chair of the IAFC EMS Section. He has also served on many NFPA technical committees and state and federal advisory boards. In 2010, U.S. Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood appointed Ludwig to serve as the fire-based EMS representative on the National EMS Advisory Committee.

Ludwig has received many awards and recognition for his service from the city of St. Louis, the Missouri EMS Association, the Tennessee Ambulance Service Association, the Tennessee EMS Association, the Congressional Fire Services Institute and the IAFC.

“The EMS Section is excited to honor Chief Gary Ludwig with the James O. Page EMS Achievement Award in recognition of his lifelong dedication to the field of fire-based EMS,” said Chief Mike McEvoy, EMS Section chair. “Gary has worked tirelessly to improve many aspects of EMS, including patient and provider safety and EMS funding from the federal government. We are especially pleased to recognize Gary for his many years of service and dedication to the IAFC EMS Section.”

McEvoy and award sponsor Physio-Control will present the award at Fire-Rescue Med, a leading, national educational forum for fire-based EMS officials hosted by the IAFC.

Ludwig joins an impressive cadre of previous James O. Page Award winners. The award honors those who demonstrate enthusiasm and dedication toward fire-based EMS, professionalism and vision, a desire for achievement, a drive for excellence and exemplary performance and leadership.

About the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC)
The IAFC represents the leadership of firefighters and emergency responders worldwide. IAFC members are the world's leading experts in firefighting, emergency medical services, terrorism response, hazardous materials spills, natural disasters, search and rescue, and public safety legislation. Since 1873, the IAFC has provided a forum for its members to exchange ideas, develop professionally and uncover the latest products and services available to first responders. Learn more
Related News
You are not logged in.