IAFC 150 anniversary logo

Nominations Open for Chief Buckman Leadership Award

Chantilly, Virginia- The Volunteer and Combination Officers Section (VCOS) of the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) is pleased to announce that the nomination period for the Chief John M. Buckman III Leadership Award is open through August 16.

The award, sponsored by Provident Insurance, recognizes a chief officer of a volunteer or combination fire department who stands out on the local or regional level as a true professional who has demonstrated leadership, integrity, and outstanding values within the fire service.

The annual award is presented each November at the VCOS Symposium in the Sun in Clearwater Beach, Florida. This year's symposium will be held on November 14-17. Nominees must be an IAFC member to win this award. Nominations are due by August 16. Winners will be notified in early September.

"Provident has been privileged to work with many truly amazing fire service leaders over the past eighty years," said Jeff Siegrist, regional director of Provident Insurance. "During that time, it's been our belief that outstanding fire chiefs from the volunteer and combination services, even though they represent nearly 80% of our nation's fire service, have been largely unrecognized when it comes to national awards. For that reason, all of us at Provident are very proud to join with the IAFC's Volunteer & Combination Officers Section by sponsoring the John M. Buckman III Leadership Award."

In addition to the award, Provident pays the winner's travel and lodging expenses to attend the award ceremonies at the VCOS Symposium in the Sun and the VCOS will waive the recipient's registration fee for the conference.

If you know a chief officer deserving of national recognition for leadership skills, please nominate him or her for the John M. Buckman, III Leadership Award.

Please contact board members Chief Ed Rush  or Chief Jason Catrambone with any questions regarding the award program or the nomination process.
About the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC)
The IAFC represents the leadership of firefighters and emergency responders worldwide. IAFC members are the world's leading experts in firefighting, emergency medical services, terrorism response, hazardous materials spills, natural disasters, search and rescue, and public safety legislation. Since 1873, the IAFC has provided a forum for its members to exchange ideas, develop professionally and uncover the latest products and services available to first responders. Learn more
Related News
You are not logged in.