VCOS Names 2013 Award Winners

The International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) is pleased to congratulate the following winners of the IAFC Volunteer & Combination Officers Section 2013 awards. These awards will be presented at the VCOS Symposium in the Sun in November.

Retention & Recruitment Award

The Abingdon (Md.) Fire Company, Fire Chief Monti Arrington, has been selected as the winner of the Retention and Recruitment Award which recognizes success and excellence in the retention and recruitment of emergency service organization members. Mr. Andrew Nau, the Retention-Recruitment Coordinator, will accept the award on behalf of the department. Award sponsored by VFIS. 

Safe Driving Award

The Oshtemo Township (Mich.) Fire Department, Fire Chief Mark L. Barnes, CFO, has been selected as the winner of the Vehicle Safe Operations Award.  The award, sponsored by VFIS, honors a department that has experienced a significant and verifiable reduction in, and/or, zero collisions/incidents/crashes during a year-long period, and considers the comprehensive nature of the department's fleet safety policy.

John M. Buckman III Award

Chief Charles Addington, II, EFO of Wolfforth (Texas) Fire & EMS, has been selected as the winner of the John M. Buckman III Leadership Award. The award recognizes a chief officer of a volunteer or combination department who stands out on the local and/or regional level as a true professional who has demonstrated leadership, integrity and outstanding moral values within the fire service. The award is sponsored by Provident Insurance.

Related News
You are not logged in.