IAFC Ben Franklin Award for Valor

About the Award

Ben Franklin Valor AwardThe IAFC Ben Franklin Award for Valor, sponsored by Motorola Solutions, is the IAFC's most prestigious award. Since 1970, the award has recognized the spirit of service, courage and heroism that is a proud tradition among the world's fire and emergency service. The program is named for one of the first fire chiefs in the United States, Benjamin Franklin. An inventor, statesman and humanitarian, Mr. Franklin was a prime contributor to the wealth of tradition that symbolizes the fire and emergency service worldwide.

Sponsored by:
Motorola Solutions logo

Presented annually at Fire-Rescue International (FRI) by the IAFC and Motorola Solutions, the award honors a firefighter for his or her expert training, professional service and dedication to the duty displayed in saving human life. But the program is more than that. It helps raise public awareness and support for the fire and emergency service.

All active firefighters career or volunteer, whether on or off-duty, are eligible for award consideration. They need only to be nominated by their chief for an incident in which they saved a human life.

IAFC Ben Franklin Award for Valor Winners

2022 Honorees

Captain Michael Kaake, Lieutenant Kris Prosser and firefighter paramedic Tyler Abbatiello

2020 and 2021 Honoree

No award was presented in 2020 and 2021 due to COVID-19.

2019 Honoree

California Fire Chief David Hawks Honored For Rescue Mission

2018 Honorees

Oregon Firefighters Honored for Daring House Fire Rescue

2017 Honoree

Ohio Crew Honored for Heroics in Retirement Community Fire

2016 Honorees

USA-1, Fairfax County (Va.) Fire and Rescue Department Urban Search and Rescue

USA-2, Los Angeles County (Calif.) Fire and Rescue Department’s Urban Search and Rescue

Read more

2015 Honoree

Virginia Beach Crew Receives Highest Honor for Complex Mass Casualty Rescue

2014 Honoree

Kaua'i Fire Crew Saves 121 Hikers Stranded by Flash Flood

2013 Honoree

Arizona Fire Chief Honored for His Quick Thinking During Dangerous Rescue

2012 Honoree

Colorado Fire Crew Faces Perfect Storm in Dramatic Rescue

2011 Honoree

Australian Firefighter Receives Franklin Award for Valor

Additional Past Winners

2010: Kaua'i (HI) Fire Department

2009: Miami Dade (FL) Fire Rescue

2008: City of Watertown (NY) Fire Department

2007: Colorado Springs (CO) Fire Department

2006: Navy Fire and Emergency Services, Naval Station Rota, Spain

2005: Cheterfield County (VA) Fire and EMS

Complete List of Historical Winners (pdf)

You are not logged in.