IAFC 150 anniversary logo

IAFC Foundation Announces Scholarship Award Recipients for 2021


Chantilly, VA – The International Association of Fire Chiefs Foundation (IAFCF), committed to strengthening future leaders through higher education, announces its 2021 Scholarship award recipients. The Foundation is pleased to award thirty-two (32) scholarships for 2021.  

This was made possible by the contributions and support of IAFC Foundation donors. Recipients of IAFC Foundation named scholarships are: 

  • The Arthur J. Glatfelter Memorial Scholarships: made possible by a generous endowment from the Glatfelter Insurance Group and VFIS, are presented to Captain Nicholas Mason, Rogers Fire Department in Arkansas, Captain James Johnston, City of Elko Fire Department in Nevada, Ocean Lifeguard Paige Parker, Los Angeles City Fire Department in California. 

  • The Garry L. Briese Scholarship: made possible with support from the Motorola Solutions Foundation, is presented to Firefighter Apparatus Operator Thomas Hardy, New Hanover County Fire Rescue in North Carolina. 

  • The John M. Buckman, III Scholarship: honors Chief John Buckman and is reserved for a volunteer furthering their fire service education, is presented to Active Member Kristen Garrison, Port Gibson Volunteer Fire Department in New York. 

  • The Chief Charles A. “Chet” Henry Memorial Scholarship: made possible with support from VFIS, for exceptional commitment to public service, is presented to Firefighter2/EMT Scotty Strayhorn, Midway Fire Rescue in South Carolina. 

  • IAFC President’s Scholarship: honors IAFC Presidents and their support for aspiring leaders in the fire and emergency services, is presented to Firefighter Ronald Montgomery, Myrtle Beach Fire Department in South Carolina. 

  • The Heather Westphal Memorial Scholarship: created in memory of the IAFC’s Membership Marketing Manager and benefiting women in the fire service, is presented to Firefighter Paramedic Lindsay Loftin, Germantown Department in Mississippi. 

“The Foundation is pleased to assist these dedicated men and women in pursuing higher education to further strengthen their careers as fire and emergency services professionals,” stated Anthony P. Campisi, IAFCF President and President/CEO of Glatfelter Insurance Group. 

The IAFC Foundation provides scholarships that make it possible for fire and EMS first responders to access the advanced learning opportunities necessary to prepare for today’s complex world. The scholarship awards made by the IAFC Foundation impact the fire service and communities by providing first responders with the educational opportunities they need to lead the fire service and serve and protect our citizens. 

In addition, the following individuals will receive educational scholarships: 

  • Matthew Bauserman, Lieutenant, Harrisonburg Fire Department (Virginia) 

  • Norman Boyd, Lieutenant, Country Club Hills Fire Department (Illinois) 

  • Nicholas Buckley, Firefighter Paramedic, Sioux City Fire Rescue (South Dakota) 

  • Alec Budig, Firefighter, Thornton Fire Department (Colorado) 

  • Chris Chadwick, Training Officer, Shreveport Fire Department (Louisiana) 

  • Timothy Davis, Lieutenant, Grays Creek Volunteer Fire Department #18 (North Carolina) 

  • Daniel Frend, Lieutenant, Anne Arundel County Fire Department (Maryland) 

  • Derek Gardner, Acting Lieutenant, Rochester Hills Fire Department (Michigan) 

  • Dan Gulli, Lieutenant, Manhattan Fire Protection District (Illinois) 

  • Haley Malloy, Firefighter, Lower Chichester Fire Department (Pennsylvania) 

  • Matthew Martin, Lieutenant, Westchester Fire Department (Illinois) 

  • Erick Mohn, Captain, Wake Forest Fire Department, (North Carolina) 

  • Thomas Neyfeldt, Firefighter Paramedic, Streamwood Fire Department (Illinois) 

  • Lisa Richard, Fire Prevention Officer, Caldwell Fire Department (Idaho) 

  • Zachary Schlott, Firefighter Paramedic, Elk Grove Village Fire Department (Illinois) 

  • Kyle Seegers, Lieutenant, Elk Grove Village Fire Department (Illinois) 

  • George Snyder, Fire Chief, Burghill Vernon Fire Department (Ohio) 

  • Aron Whorf, Firefighter Paramedic, Glen Falls Fire Department (New York) 

  • Ken Zahara, Lieutenant, West Chicago Fire Department (Illinois) 

  • Heather Zimmerman, Engineer, Nashville Fire Department (Tennessee) 

For more information about the Foundation and to donate, please visit www.iafcf.org

Contact: foundation@iafc.org 


Related News
You are not logged in.