IAFC 150 anniversary logo

2012 President's Award Reflects Historic Achievement

Each year, the outgoing IAFC president honors individuals from the fire and emergency service who have contributed in a significant way during the president's term. This year, Chief Al Gillespie recognized Chief Jeff Jonson (Ret.), IAFC president 2009-2010, with the President’s Award of Recognition at the Saturday general session of Fire-Rescue International 2012 in Denver.

Gillespie honored Johnson in recognition of his outstanding leadership in the national public-safety effort to secure the D Block spectrum and funding to create a nationwide, public-safety broadband network. He praised Johnson’s tenacity, technical knowledge, coalition-building skills and professionalism.

“The D Block is a great example of what the fire and emergency service can accomplish if each of us raises our voice and demands the service and infrastructure we need to protect our communities and our responders,” said Gillespie in his remarks to the FRI attendees. “But every chorus needs a conductor, and that was Jeff Johnson.”

Gillespie noted the hard work of many who contributed to the historic achievement surrounding the D block, and he thanked each fire and emergency service leader who contributed to the national dialogue, educated local stakeholders and reached out to their members of Congress.

Ann Davison, CAE, is the strategic information manager for the IAFC.

Related News
You are not logged in.