IAFC 150 anniversary logo

Nominate Now: Ben Franklin Award for Valor

The IAFC is now accepting nominations for the IAFC/Motorola Solutions Ben Franklin Award for Valor. Since 1970, the award has recognized firefighters for their expert training, professional service and dedication to duty displayed in saving a human life.

Information on the award and the 2015 nomination form are available on the award’s webpage.

Nominations are due by Friday, May 29.

The IAFC’s most prestigious award, The Award for Valor recognizes the spirit of service, courage and heroism that is the tradition among the world’s fire-service professionals. It's presented by the IAFC and the award sponsor, Motorola Solutions, at the general session of Fire-Rescue International (FRI), the IAFC’s annual conference.

The award is named for one of the first fire chiefs in the United States, Benjamin Franklin. An inventor, statesman and humanitarian, Franklin was a prime contributor to the wealth of tradition that symbolizes the fire and emergency service worldwide.

All active firefighters—career or volunteer, on- or off-duty—are eligible for award consideration. They need only to be nominated by their chief for an incident in which they saved a human life.

The award winner and his or her department chief will be treated to a VIP stay at FRI in Atlanta this August, including the Benjamin Franklin Fire Service Award for Valor dinner.

View an IAFCtv interview with the 2014 Benjamin Franklin Fire Service Award for Valor winners.

Nomination Process

Go to the award’s nomination webpage and complete the nomination form. Email the nomination form and any supporting documentation (pdf format) to BenFranklinAward@iafc.org. While the IAFC encourages emailed submissions, hard-copy nominations will be accepted. See the award's webpage for details.

For more information, contact IAFC award coordinator Jim Philipps at BenFranklinAward@iafc.org or 703-537-4829.

Related News
You are not logged in.