IAFC 150 anniversary logo

Institution of Fire Engineers: United States of America Branch Announces Its New Leaders

The Institution of Fire Engineers – USA Branch is pleased to announce the election of its officers for 2011. These new officers are:

  • President: Scott D. Kerwood, PhD, CFO, MIFireE
  • Vice President: Harry Carter, PhD, MIFireE
  • Secretary: Chris P. Riley, MS, CFO, MIFireE

These three new officers join the established leadership to guide the Branch along a well-established path:

  • Immediate Past-President James M. Broman, CFO, MIFireE
  • Treasurer William W. Kehoe, MIFireE
  • Member-At-Large William E. Peterson, CEM, FIFireE

In particular, the new leadership will continue the ongoing operations of the Vision 20/20 project.

With funding from the Assistance to Fire Fighters Fire Prevention and Safety Grant program, the IFE-USA Branch has established a steering committee comprising noted fire service and related agency leaders to guide a national strategic-planning process for the fire loss prevention that results in a national plan to coordinate activities and fire-prevention efforts.

The IFE-USA Branch continues the tradition of fire service leadership in promoting fire engineering, which was founded in 1918 in the United Kingdom by a group of eight British chief fire officers. A similarly small group of fire service leaders met in Tulsa, Okla., in February 1996 to establish the IFE-USA Branch. Today, membership numbers more than 300 individuals from all parts of the country involved in science, technology, law, psychology, physiology and fire service management.

Related News
You are not logged in.