IAFC 150 anniversary logo

IAFC Honors Fire Chief of the Year Awardees

Pierce ManufacturingIAFC logo

SAN ANTONIO, TX  – The International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC), in partnership with Pierce Manufacturing Inc., announced the 2022 IAFC Fire Chief of the Year honorees during its annual Fire-Rescue International conference in San Antonio, TX.

Volunteer Fire Chief, Marshall Turbeville, of the Northern Sonoma FPD in Sonoma County, California, and career Fire Chief, Gary Ludwig, of the Champaign Fire Department in Champaign, Illinois were named this year’s honorees.

A selection committee appointed by the IAFC reviewed nominations for active chiefs of departments who have shown exemplary contributions in the areas of leadership, innovation, professional development, integrity, public service, and contributions to the fire service.

Chief Marshall Turbeville led his community’s response to the devastating wildfires in California over the last several years, including the Tubbs, Pocket, Kincade, and Wallbridge fires. These events not only caused widespread damage and destruction, but they also triggered significant emotional and psychological trauma within the community and the fire department. After frontline experience fighting these fires, Chief Turbeville determined the status quo response to the firestorms was inadequate and worked with his community to develop new strategies focused on prevention, preparedness, and appropriate mitigation methods to save future life, property, and the environment.

Chief Gary Ludwig serves as the Fire Chief for the Champaign, Illinois Fire Department and is also a past President and Chairman of the Board for the IAFC. During his term as IAFC President, Chief Ludwig was faced with the crisis of the worldwide COVID-19 pandemic. In the early days of March 2020, several weeks prior to the shutdown in the United States, Chief Ludwig implemented a Coronavirus Task Force consisting of fire chiefs, IAFF leaders, physicians, and private industry. The Task Force met weekly and conveyed vital information to members across the country. Chief Ludwig’s actions led the fire service through the pandemic during the most difficult time.

You can learn more about the IAFC Fire Chief of the Year Awards here.

About the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC)
The IAFC represents the leadership of firefighters and emergency responders worldwide. IAFC members are the world's leading experts in firefighting, emergency medical services, terrorism response, hazardous materials spills, natural disasters, search and rescue, and public safety legislation. Since 1873, the IAFC has provided a forum for its members to exchange ideas, develop professionally and uncover the latest products and services available to first responders.
Related News
You are not logged in.