IAFC 150 anniversary logo

IAFC Awards Program: EMS Section Announces Award Winners at FRM 2011

The IAFC’s EMS Section recognized a number of IAFC members for their contributions to fire service-based EMS at Fire-Rescue Med 2011.

James O. Page Award

James O. Page award winner and EMS Section board.Dr. Jeff Lindsey, EFO, CFO, was honored with the James O. Page EMS Achievement Award.

The James O. Page EMS Achievement Award—cosponsored by the IAFC EMS Section and Physio-Control, Inc.—is given to someone who has played a key role in creating and promoting nonclinical innovation and achievements in fire service-based EMS management and leadership that have had a positive impact nationally. The Award is named in honor of James O. Page, who has been a visionary and a national leader in fire service EMS for over three decades.

Recipients of this award are dedicated to creating a positive image for EMS as a whole while being an advocate of the fire and emergency service. They’re also devoted to making a difference for the overall good of the fire and emergency service and committed to furthering and strengthening the role and image of the fire service-based EMS across the country. Recipients of the award demonstrate a number of important qualities:

  • Enthusiasm and dedication toward fire service-based EMS 
  • Professionalism and vision 
  • A desire for achievement and drive for excellence 
  • Exemplary performance and leadership qualities

Lindsey has served in a number of roles in the fire and EMS arena for the past 30 years. He has held positions of firefighter, paramedic, dispatcher, educator, coordinator, deputy chief and chief. He’s currently the chief learning officer for the Health and Safety Institute, which produces the 24-7 EMS and 24-7 Fire videos. He’s retired as the fire/EMS chief for Estero (Fla.) Fire Rescue.

He’s an associate member of the Prehospital Research Forum. He served as an inaugural member for the National EMS Advisory Council representing fire-based EMS and is a past member of the State of Florida EMS Advisory Council, where he served as the firefighter/paramedic representative. He currently serves as representative to the Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education EMS degree committee. He has been active in the IAFC, serving as liaison to ACEP and attending meetings representing fire-based EMS.

Lindsey is currently a columnist for FireRehab.com. He was a monthly columnist for JEMS for three years, writing product reviews and has had authored many fire and EMS texts for Brady publishing.

In his role as fire chief, he served as the South Division incident commander during major events. He was part of the area command for Lee County EOC. Lindsey has been involved in a number of large events and served within the incident command system at the upper level including during hurricane Charley and a number of wildland fires. He has also been involved in the preparation for a number of other hurricanes and tropical storms.

He started his career in Carlisle, Pa., as a volunteer firefighter/EMT. In 1985, he pioneered the first advanced life-support service in Cumberland County, Pa. He has most recently accepted an assistant fire chief position in Alexandria, Va.

He holds an associate degree in Para-medicine from Harrisburg Area Community College, a bachelor degree in Fire and Safety from the University of Cincinnati, a master degree in Instructional Technology from the University of South Florida and an earned Ph.D. in Instructional Technology/Adult Education from University of South Florida.

The IAFC applauds the long service and many achievements of title and his continued work for the overall good of the fire and emergency service.

Visit the EMS Section’s Awards webpage to learn about past years’ winners.

EMS Section Meritorious Award

The EMS Section’s Meritorious Service Award was created in 2009 to acknowledge work of merit during the year. This year, the section honored these three:

  • William R. Metcalf, Fire Chief, North County (Calif.) Fire Protection District
  • Pete Lawrence, Operations Battalion Chief, Oceanside (Calif.) Fire Department
  • Kevin Brame, Deputy Fire Chief, North Las Vegas Fire Department

Previous winners include:

  • 2010: Deputy Chief Chris Shimer (Ret.); Chief Rick Patrick (Ret.); Assistant Chief Michael Carter
  • 2009: Chief Larry Grorud, outgoing IAFC president; Chief Greg Cade, former U.S. fire administrator; EMS Coordinator Mike McEvoy

Heart Safe Community Awards

The EMS Section awarded Hillsborough County Fire Rescue and Sandy Springs Fire Rescue and EMS the annual Heart Safe Community Awards for large and small communities, respectively. See the announcement for this award in the May 1 issue of On Scene.

Tony Baker is a government relations manager with the IAFC. He serves as liaison to the IAFC’s EMS Section.

Related News
You are not logged in.