IAFC_logo

Emergency Management and Preparedness-Inclusion of Persons with Disabilities

  • August 12, 2021 2:30 PM - 3:30 PM Eastern Standard Time
  • Online
ADA presentations

Webinars begin at ET:2.30 PM, CT: 1.30pm, MT:12.30 PM, PT:11.30 AM, Hawaii: 9.30 AM during mainland Standard Time; 8.30 AM during mainland Daylight Savings Time.
Registration: Free on-line at http://adapresentations.org/registrationEM.php
Registration closes at midnight, August 11, 2021.

All webinars offer captioning. Requests for sign language interpreters must be made the Monday before the webinar to support@adapacific.org. For all other accessibility questions about Zoom webinar conferencing software, go to https://zoom.us/accessibility.


Are you "planning for or planning with" the whole community? Ensuring inclusion is a daunting task with many variables to consider that impact all of your agency's core capabilities. Do you have inclusion assigned as a secondary responsibility for a member of your team? Should you be thinking bigger, dedicating a full-time position that focuses on ensuring equity and equality is considered in all phases of emergency management? Colorado is one state that has taken the latter route and they have a blueprint that can help you achieve a similar outcome in your state.

Learning objectives:

  • Understanding equity and inclusion (equality) and identifying your subject matter experts in both disciplines.
  • Learning strategies to ensure you are effectively planning "with" and for everyone in your community.

Presenters:

Sadie Martinez is the Colorado State Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management's (DHSEM) Access and Functional Needs Coordinator her role focuses on coordinating the development and operations of a statewide network of contracted local Access and Functional Needs integration emergency planners. She supports state agencies and local jurisdictions in the development of inclusive, whole community emergency operations plans that adequately account for people with Access and Functional Needs, emergency preparedness workshops and serves as the Access and Functional Needs subject matter expert during state-level planning initiatives.

Brent Michael Houston is the Regional Disability Integration Specialist (RDIS) for Region 8 based in Denver, Colorado. Prior to taking this position Michael was the Disability Integration Advisor for the National Incident Management Assistance Team (IMAT) East 1, and prior the IMAT team he began his FEMA career as the RDIS for Region 4.

To view upcoming sessions, go to adapresentations.org/scheduleEM.php
To see previous sessions, go to adapresentations.org/archiveEM.php



Event Details
Related
You are not logged in.